News  →  View Story

2 Jul 2015

2015 AAU High School Scholarship Award Winners Announced!

2015 AAU High School Scholarship Award Winners Announced!

This year’s AAU High School Scholarship Award grand prize winners are Nicole Carroll and Robert Bliss III. Carroll is a track & field pole vault and gymnastics athlete and Bliss is a basketball star. Both will receive $10,000 in scholarship money to the college or university of their choice. Taylor Berry (Basketball), Kelly Keitel (Trampoline & Tumbling) and Heidi Vanderholm (Volleyball) will also take home scholarship money in the amount of $2,500. The male $2,500 winners include Trent Hagenbuch (Diving), Christian Schiereck (Taekwondo) and Colton James Rausch (Wrestling).

Every year, the Amateur Athletic Union awards the AAU High School Scholarship Award to eight individuals. These winners must show outstanding athletic abilities, leadership skills, a diversity in their activities and service, sportsmanship and strength of character, not only in their sport, but in their community.

This award is given annually to four female athletes and four male athletes that have participated in the AAU and is named after James E. Sullivan, a past President of the Amateur Athletic Union, and a pioneer in amateur sports. Based on the qualities of leadership, character and sportsmanship, the AAU High School Award goes far beyond athletic accomplishment and honors those with leadership skills, strong character as evidenced by his and her lifestyle as a whole.

Congratulations to all eight of these athletes! 

Number of views (32562)      Comments (0)




Upcoming events Events RSSiCalendar export