News  →  View Story

15 Mar 2013

AAU Crowns Champions of the Mat in North Carolina

AAU Crowns Champions of the Mat in North Carolina

Originally published at

Wrestlers from across the state of North Carolina took to the mats at the Cabarrus Arena and Events Center in Concord, NC for the 2013 North Carolina AAU State Championships. Over 700 wrestlers across eight divisions competed for a state title.

Youth1 recaps the winners of the Schoolboy division below.

Rylee Billings of Wilkes Wrestling brought home the 70-pound title after defeating Clay Beach of Hardcore, 12-0, in the championship match. Some of Billings’ successes this year included the 31st Annual NC Jr High States and the Spartan Folkstyle Clash . Rounding out third was Will Edmiston of Mooresville Wrestling.

Caedyn Fitch of Team Cabarrus claimed victory of the 75-pound title with a 15-0 tech-fall against Christian Harris of the Sun Valley Sun Devils in the title match. Fitch won the Middle and Elementary School Tournament in February. Taking second place was consolation bracket winner Adam Poole of Excalibur Wrestling Club with a 4-2 decision over Christian Harris.

Taking home top honors of the 80-pound division was Cade Davis of Team Cabarrus defeated Coby Morgan of Trojan Wrestling Club, 6-1, in the final round. Dalton White of the Dare Devils won the bronze medal when he defeated Collin Butler by fall in 4:00.

Tyler Gregor of the Mat Maniacs won the 80-pound championship after a 17-0 tech-fall against Austin Scott of Newton Conover Middle School. Gregor won the Middle and Elementary School Tournament just a month ago. Ethan Workman of the Bethel Bengals Wrestling won the consolation finals with a 4-0 decision over Christopher Jones.

Joshua Lehr of the Hurricanes captured the 90-pound championship with a 17-2 victory over Toney Mcgee of the Excalibur Wrestling Club. Jacob Kuykendall of Pittbull Wrestling won third place with a 6-3 decision over Madison Tipton in the consolation finals.

Mike Vernagallo Jr of Wolfden Wrestling added another championship to his belt when he defeated Tanner Hoosier of Team Atlas by fall in 2:30. Consolation finalist Josh Blatt of Strong and Courageous finished in second place after a pin in 3:50 over Tanner Hoosier.

Emerging with a first place win of the 100-pound contest was none other than Tyler Johnson of the Trinity Mat Dawgs after a 7-3 win over Alec Sampson of the Wilmington Mat Dawgs. Alec Sampson would take home the 2nd place title after a forfeit victory over Deven Youker in the true 2nd place match.

In the 105-pound contest, Nathan Buchanan of the Mat Maniacs defeated Daniel Duffy, 1-0, in the title round. Buchanan was a winner in the 31st Annual NC Jr High States in February. Spencer Leonhardt of the Excalibur Wrestling Club would win the bronze medal with a 6-2 decision over Bailey Mullen.

Corey Knighton of the Excalibur Wrestling Club won the 110-pound title with a 6-3 victory over Jacob Butler. Knighton was champion of the Race City Rumble the prior weekend. Matthew Price of Piedmont would win the third place prize with a victory by fall over Matthew Wright in the consolation finals.

Caleb Hart secured a win in 0:29 over Nate Funderburk of the Sun Devils to clinch the 115-pound championship. Funderburk maintained possession of second place with a 6-5 decision over Dalton Slough of the Mat Maniacs in the true 2nd place match.

Emerging from the 120-pound bracket was Anthony Brito of the Dare Devils after a 4-0 victory against Blake Frye of the Foothills Fury in the final round. It was third place finalist Bernie Briley of Excalibur Wrestling Club who advanced into second place due to an injury of Blake Frye.

Patrick Burton of the Port City Pirates took honors of the 125-pound contest with a pin in 0:52 against Mason Coble of the Montgomery County Youth Wrestling. Consolation champion Donnie Coleman of MCA Warriors Wrestling defeated Mason Coble, 8-4, to earn the second spot.

Damian Bertino of Stanly County Wrestling finished Jordan Ulibarri of the Denver Dragons to become champion of the 130-pound weight-class. Jordan Ulibarri pinned Noah Augustine of Mooresville Wrestling Club in 3:00 to obtain second place.

Port City Pirates’ Austin Harrison captured possession of the 140-pound title after a victory in 2:44 against Bronson Knappe of ROCO in the championship bout. Bronson Knabbe finished in second place with a defeat of third place finisher Silas Hilton of the Denver Dragons.

Jake Balmas captured the 150-pound weight class with a 5-4 decision over Kyle Mccune of Davie Rage in the championship match. Winning second was Kyle Mccune with a pin in 4:00 against Ethan Nichols of Wilkes Wrestling Club.

Coming away with a first place finish in the 160-pound was none other than Ashton Thomas of the MCA Warriors after a pin in 1:00 over William Bail Cruse. Cruse held onto second place due to a forfeit of Caleb Lee Money of Cardinal Wrestling.

Alex Willis of the Port City Pirates emerged out of the 180-pound weight class with a Major 12-0 victory over Tate Bumgarner in the championship round. T.J Brown of Wilkes Wrestling rounded out in third place.

Dawson Lail of Saint Wrestling Club won the Heavyweight championship with a 4-0 victory over Chris Baker of Trinity Mat Dawgs. Baker took home the second place title with a 3-0 victory over consolation bracket winner Thomas Yarbrough.

To view the complete results, click here.

FOLLOW AAU Wrestling on Twitter at @AAUWrestling and LIKE on Facebook at

Number of views (4190)      Comments (0)



«December 2022»


Upcoming events Events RSSiCalendar export