News  →  View Story

9 Apr 2013

Youth1 Wrestling Spring Nationals Recap

Youth1 Wrestling Spring Nationals Recap

Originally posted at 

Youth wrestlers from across the south competed in the 2013 AAU Spring Youth Nationals at the Buck Van Huys Dome in Kingsport, Tennessee this past weekend.  

Here is a look at how each of the schoolboy divisions placed out.  


Sam Latona of Team Alabama defeated Rylee Billings, 4-1, in the championship of the 70-pound bracket. Dane Darymple won the consolation match, 5-0, over Clay Beach of Hardcore. 


Taking top honors in the 75-pound contest was none other than Luke Dezember of Lawrence County Wrestling with a pin in 2:51 against Jordan White of Eastside. Coming away in third place was Trey Hicks of the Bradley Pride with a 6-4 victory against Jaylen Kello. 


Kyle Gollhofer of PWA won the title of the 80-pound weight class after a 3:24 pin over Michael Moultry of Murfreesboro Elite Wrestling. With a third place finish was Trey Boyd of Rural Retreat Wrestling after a 9-0 major victory against Brendan Jarvis of Team Knoxville. 


Koby Miner of Compound Wrestling emerged from the 85-pound contest with a Major 11-1 final against Trent Nelson of Vikings Wrestling Club in the final match. Consolation champion Bradley Bitting of PWA claimed the silver medal with a 6-3 decision over Trent Nelson. 


TJ Hicks of Bradley Pride was named champion of the 90-pound tournament after a 9-4 triumph over Josh Blatt of Strong and Courageous in the final match. Pride won the TNAAU State Championships earlier this month. It was consolation champion Kyle Brown of Bellator with a victory in 4:51 against Josh Blatt to secure second place. 


Jalen Soto of Riverdale captured the 95-pound title with a 2-0 win over Devin Kohn of the FL Jets in the closing round. Taking the second seed was none other than Jacob D. Ambrosia with  2-0 decision against Devin Kohn in a third place battle. 


Reese Dalton of Compound Wrestling won honors of the 100-pound weight class with a pin in 3:20 over Brady Woodward. Adam Webb of Grundy came in with a third place finish after defeating Colby Finch of Generals Wresting Club. 


Taking home the 105-pound title was Knox Fuller of the Bradley Pride who captured first place with a 2:57 pin over Sammy Peticos in the final round. Winning second was consolation bracket winner William Mitchell of the FL Jets with a 13-5 victory against Sammy Peticos. 


Chase Emory of Colonels Wrestling Club claimed the 110-pound title with a 5:38 triumph against Trevor Mansfield of Bellator in the championship match. Max McMahan took hold of the bronze with an 11-2 victory over Cruise Baker of Strong and Courageous. 


The 115-pound division crowned Brock Herring of Compound Wresting with a pin in 5:08 on Matthew Sloan of the Harrisburg Elite. Herring was a TNAAU State Championship. Gavin Hutchins of Pigeon Ford captured the consolation match with an 11-3 defeat of Nic Murray in the consolation match. 


Winning the 120-pound title was Matt King of East Alabama with a 2-0 victory against Dewey Pendley of Vikings Wrestling Club. Owen Brown of Bellator came away with a 17-2 tech-fall over Dewey Pendley in the true 2nd place match. 


Matthew Sells of Murfreesboro Elite Wrestling secured the 125-pound gold medal with a victory by forfeit over Zackrey Wilkins of MT. Juliet Bear Wrestling. Jacob McNutt of Grundy claimed third place with a pin in 3:58 over Thaddeus Poore of the Port City Pirates. 


Jaret Lester of Akron Wrestling Club won the 130-pound championship when Colten Cooper of Simon Kenton Middle School was disqualified in the final round. Consolation finalist Austin Harrison of the Port City Pirates secured the silver medal. 


Dean Czadzack of Highlands Wrestling became champion of the 140-pound with a 4-3 decision in the championship match against Garrett Ash of Bellator. It was Hunter Moore of the Elite Wrestling Academy with a 1:39 against Tyler Elam of Eastside to win third place. 


It was Hunter Fortner of Eagle Talon Wrestling Club with a 15-0 tech-fall over Griffin Stephenson of Maverick Wrestling to come away with the 150-pound title. Stephenson took second and Cody Carr of the Jefferson Warriors finished in third. 


Chaston Holley of the E-lemon-ators became champion of the 160-pound weight class with a 9-4 decision against Blaze Kansco of Liberty Wrestling Club in the final round. Kansco did fall into second place after defeating third place finalist Travis White of Bellator, 13-7. 


The 180-pound championship was awarded to Zach Matthews of Bellator with a 3:35 victory against Timmy Abee of Excalibur Wrestling Club. Abee anchored a second place finish with a pin in 1:10 over consolation champion Harley Mitchell of Rural Retreat Wrestling. To view the complete brackets, CLICK HERE.

Number of views (5481)      Comments (0)



«November 2023»


Upcoming events Events RSSiCalendar export